Brussels Sprouts

I hope everyone is having a great week!  I have been eating so horribly at work with all of the Halloween candy everywhere!  You wouldn’t think that this would be going on in a dental office, right?  I think dentists may actually be the biggest ‘sweet tooths’ out there!  So because of this I decided to make one of my favorite healthy side dishes for dinner.

Here’s what I did for my Sauteed Brussels Sprouts

I always purchase the cleaned, ready to cook Brussels Sprouts available in the steamer bags.  Something like this:

Image

You will also need…
-Garlic–minced
-Olive Oil
-Salt and Pepper for seasoning

To expedite the time frame of this preparation, I steamed the sprouts in the bag for about 1/2 the recommended time on the packaging.  Then I removed the sprouts from the bag and sliced them in half.

Use a large skillet to cook the sprouts.  I added enough olive oil to coat the bottom of the pan.  Heat the olive oil on medium-high heat, add minced garlic and sprouts.

Cook the sprouts, stirring frequently, until they begin to caramelize.  This takes about 8-10 minutes.

They should look like this:

Image

Season with salt and pepper and remove pan from heat source.  Plate the Sprouts and Serve while they are warm.  Enjoy!

photo (2)

I hope you guys have a great evening!

J

Leave a Reply

