October 2013 Birchbox

birchbox Love when that hot pink box arrives every month!!!

It’s that time of the month that I absolutely can’t wait for…. the arrival of my birchbox!!!!! This beauty sample subscription is one of my favorite things. It is such a treat to get a package in the mail and I absolutely love trying new beauty products. It is a a great way to try some high end products without the commitment of spending all the money on full sized products. Here is what I think about the items in this months box.

1.  Atelier Cologne Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolu- $155.00  (full size)

This light perfume smells just like an orange rind to me. It is fresh and clean smelling and I have really enjoyed it. It has been nice to try but with a price tag of $155 I will not be purchasing the full size.

ateliercologne_orangesanguinecologneabsolute_900x900

2. ChapStick® Hydration Lock- $2.99

This was an extra that they threw in the Birchbox this month and it couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. I can’t seem to hang on to chapsticks for long. I always seem to misplace them and then I cant find one when I desperately need one. This has a nice light vanilla scent and felt very moisturizing, however, I did not feel like it stayed on for 8 hours as the package claims.

chapstick_hydrationlock_bbfind_900x900_1

My favorite drugstore chapstick is still hands down at Whole foods.

whole_foods_lip_balm_tagged The vanilla honey is not only my favorite by my hubby’s too 🙂 It is super creamy and moisturizing and I haven’t found anything that I like quite as much.

3. Serious Skincare® Glycolic Gommage Extreme Renewal- $38.50

Ill be honest, I haven’t tried this one yet. The instructions are SUPER complicated and I just haven’t felt like messing with it. Sorry guys, can’t say much about this one.

 seriousskincare_glycolicgommage_900x900

4. theBalm® cosmetics Stainiac- $17.00

This reminds me of one of my all time favorite benefit products the Benetint. I love the sponge applicator that this came with which made it easy to apply. It leaves a subtle red tint with just the right amount of pigment and I like to throw some lip gloss or chapstick over it to add some shine. While I have been enjoying this product, I have found that it is not super long lasting. When I put it on before work it has worn off by mid morning. All in all, I would purchase the Benetint over this.

thebalm-stainiac-beautyqueen_900x900benetint

5. DDF® Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum- $85.00

To start with, I am loving the packaging on this! I like that even the sample has a pump on it and and I love the DNA looking double helix presentation. This is a gel moisturizer vs a cream. I have always preferred gel moisturizers and this one I have found to be super moisturizing and completely non irritating. I have SUPER sensitive skin so I always have to be careful with beauty products. It also has a clean subtle scent that is just right. I have been loving this and would definitely consider purchasing the full size.

ddf_wrinkleresistminimizer_900x900

 All in all I thought the contents of this month’s brichbox were great! Let me know if any of you have tried any of these products and what your thoughts are 🙂

XOXO -Brittany

Leave a Reply

