Half Marathon Training Essentials

Hey guys!  I’m getting prepared for another 1/2 marathon this winter and I thought I would take the opportunity to share with you some of my running/working out must-haves as well as a peek at my running playlist!

Here is an action shot of me dying running in San Fran:
photo (4)

1. Shoes
I am constantly searching for the latest and greatest running shoe!  Right now I am alternating between 2 different shoes.  I like to rotate between a lighter weight more minimalist shoe and a heavier more supportive shoe.  Right now I’m wearing the Saucony Kinvara 4 running shoe and the New Balance 880.

Kinvara

new balance shoes

2. Socks
I think that a good sock is so important to have, especially during long runs.  My go-to running sock is the Balega Hidden Comfort ankle sock.  I have a horrible time with blisters and I have found these particular socks to be the best at preventing them.  They are also really cushioned and don’t slip.

balega sock

3. Attire
I am beyond obsessed with Lululemon Running gear.  Having good gear that you feel comfortable and put together in really keeps me motivated to keep up the training process.  When I am feeling down and really dreading a long run, putting on something fun and stylish helps me put in the necessary mileage.  This is one of my most favorite running outfits (which can be worn for biking, going to the grocery store, lazing around the house, etc):

photo (3)

This pic was taken in Napa Valley at the Carneros Inn–One of the most amazing places I have ever been!  I am wearing the swiftly tech long sleeve tee and groovy run short in the above pic.

4. Hair
I always pull my hair back when I’m running.  I like to braid it to keep it from forming a huge knot by the end of a long run.  I also can’t ever go without my Sweaty Bands.  I have mentioned these before and I truly am obsessed.  They don’t slip and keep your hair pulled back out of your face.

sweaty-bands

5. Storage
The fanny pack is back!  When you run long distances, it is good to have a place to keep your phone, money, energy supplement, etc.  I am a big fan of the SPIBelt!  It stays in place, wicks away all the sweat, and holds a ton of stuff.  They are actually pretty cute (for a fanny pack!) and come in a lot of great colors.

spibelt

6. Headphones
I can’t run 1 block without music playing.  It really is key to making the run more enjoyable.  I get a lot of my energy from my music and have found the perfect way to listen to it.  I never leave for a run without my Jaybird Freedom Bluetooth Headphones.  Jaybird has several options when it comes to Bluetooth headphones.  I have tried them all including their latest model, the Bluebuds X.  I still always come back to the Freedoms.  They never slip from my ear, have great sound quality, and I can control the volume and change the tracks on my playlist with the buttons on the side of the headphone.

jaybird freedom

7. Music
I used to be an iTunes faithful until one of my bff’s introduced me to Spotify.  Now it is all I use.  If you are not familiar with it, it is a monthly membership to have listening access to millions of songs.  You can make your own playlists, choose from pre-made playlists, share playlists with friends, or you can also use it similarly to Pandora and stream radio.  It is definitely worth the monthly fee of $9.99!  Just for fun, here is my current playlist:

And yes, I do have a lot of random music on there!  Do you have any great running/work-out essentials?  I am always willing to try something new!  I hope you are all having a great week!

J

4 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Essentials

  1. Great pics in SF & wine country! I will be walking a half marathon in Feb 🙂 Will have to check out those socks and the cute fanny pack! Thanks!

    Like

  2. Great post! Gracie is obsessed with sporty headbands right now… I am definitely going to have to get her some sweaty bands for Christmas! She will love them 🙂
    -Jena

    Like

Leave a Reply

