Winter Hair Care Routine

Do you all ever have problems with dry, cracked, less shiny hair during the winter months?  I just had a hair appointment on Friday, and my stylist was telling me how dry my hair looked.  He recommended a few products to help me get through the winter months and I thought I would share them with you all on here!  After a really thorough trim of my split ends and using these new products this weekend, my hair feels and looks amazing!  Here’s the routine that he put me on:

Shampoo and Conditioner:

Kerastase Nutritive Bain Satin Shampoo

Image

Kerastase Masquintense For Thick Hair

Image

I cleanse my hair normally with the shampoo, then rinse thoroughly.  I use a quarter sized dollop of conditioner and let it rest for about 5 minutes before rinsing.

After I towel dry my hair, I use this great product to protect my locks while I fry style my hair with all of the heat products (Hair Dryer, Straightener, Curling Iron, Etc).

Kerastase Ciment Thermique

Image

The instructions per my stylist is to use a quarter size amount and work through the middle and ends of my hair first and then use the final portion to work over the roots.  I found that putting this on prior to brushing out my hair really helps to de-tangle it and make the brushing less destructive.

Finally before drying, I use a couple of pumps of the Kerastase Elixer Ultime Serum.

Image

This product is AMAZING!  It smells so great, makes my hair feel super soft, and is also great after I blow dry my hair to control any frizz.

I know this routine seems maybe a bit intense/over-the-top, but it really seemed to make a huge difference after following it this weekend.  I honestly feel that these more expensive shampoos/conditioners/etc make a huge difference in the healthiness of your hair.  I am thankful that I married a dermatologist who understands and actually agrees with me on this point!  My other tip to everyone is to buy these products on Amazon.  You will save a ton of $$$ by doing so!

Do any of you have any great winter hair care tips and tricks?  I hope you all have a great week!

J

5 thoughts on “Winter Hair Care Routine

  1. Jamie! I love the Kerastase products. I use the conditioning mask once a week and it really helps my hair stay hydrated. Sometimes I will put it on at night, sleep with it on, and wash it out in the morning! Love it! I will have to try the serum you recommended… Great product review 🙂

    Like

  2. I love your blog! And as some with beast hair (lol) this was great. I have been eyeing that last product! My only advice is to be careful where you but expensive products. Even places like target (which I love, which I know doesn’t sell this brand) , there is a ton of, I guess, forgery. I have a friend who is a cosmetologist My best friend so she isn’t looking to make money off me lol 😉 love your blog. My dad is a dentist 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comment! You’re right about the internet product sites for expensive beauty products! Sometimes you may find “knock off” type products. For the most part I have been fortunate with this… I usually purchase things that will last longer (the Elixir Ultime) from the salon and then roll the dice with Amazon on shampoo and conditioner. So far I have been fortunate and have gotten the authentic product but I figure you could always return if you got a knock off/imitation product.

      Jamie

      Like

Leave a Reply

