Trader Joe’s Dinner Night

I thought it would be fun to share with you some of the simple meals that I make with food exclusively from Trader Joe’s!  For last night’s meal, I wanted to prepare something that would be a huge contrast to the Thanksgiving Feast that is about to take place.  I decided to prepare Sockeye Salmon with Linguine Pesto and Tomatoes with a delicious veggie side of Asparagus, Onions, and Mushrooms.  All of these were purchased at my local TJ’s.

Image

Sockeye Salmon

Image

I purchased the salmon from the refrigerator section at TJ’s.  It is really handy for us that there are portions for 2 people.  It’s always so hard to cook for 2 without having leftovers for days!!! 

Prior to cooking the salmon, I seasoned it with EVOO and one of my favorite seafood spice rubs.

Image

This seasoning is from Savory Spice Shop (for the Nashvillians reading this blog, there is one in DT Franklin now!)

Image

Once seasoned, I had my hubby put the Salmon on the grill at Med-High heat skin side down.  I wasn’t outside monitoring this process, but he cooked it as directed (by me of course!) to an internal temp of 131 degrees without flipping.  The Sockeye Salmon is nice because the skin protects it from flaking apart when you grill it.  

Linguine Pesto & Tomatoes

Image

This was purchased from TJ’s freezer section.  

While my husband was outside braving the cold and grilling the salmon, I prepared the sides!  This one is really quick and easy.  All you have to do is open the bag, place in a microwave safe dish, and follow the directions on the bag!

Image

Image

Asparagus, Onions, and Mushrooms

The veggies were purchased from the refrigerator section at TJ’s by the ready-made vegetables.  They are in a pre-chopped ready to cook package.  

For cooking these, I used a skillet and drizzled EVOO in the bottom of the pan.  I heated the oil and then sauteed the veggies as directed on the packaging.  It took about 5-8 minutes over Med-High heat.  I seasoned them with salt and pepper.

Image

This is the final product ready to eat for dinner:

Image

It was really yummy and very easy!  It took 30 minutes (or less!) to prepare, cook, and serve this meal!  Definitely a must when we both worked full, long days!  

I hope you all are having a great week and have a very Happy Thanksgiving!  Let me know if you have any other great TJ’s food finds!  I always love trying new things from there!  

J

5 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Dinner Night

Leave a Reply

