Fun in the Sun

I had the opportunity on my beach vacation to try out several different sunscreens. My husband is always getting great samples and it was fun to try some of them out. Here are my front runners and favorites from this trip:

20140314-151404.jpg

1, 2, 3, 4

1. Elta MD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen SPF 46
This was the sunscreen that my husband and I used the entire trip on our faces. It worked so well that I am not even sure if my face got tan between the usage of this sunscreen and my Panama hat! I am told avoiding the sun is key to aging well! Like its spray counterpart mentioned below, it has physical blocking properties as well as chemical blocking properties. My husband tells me that the physical blockers block UVA rays well (which are the rays that are really aging) so that is a definite bonus with this product! This product has a nice pump on the bottle so you get the perfect amount of product, goes on smoothly for a clean and elegant feel, did not clog my pores/cause breakouts, and was very gentle on my sensitive skin. I am hooked and plan on making this my go-to face sunscreen.

2. Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Body Mist Sunscreen SPF 70
This is a great spray on sunscreen. It is easy to apply with its spray nozzle, is light and not greasy or sticky, and leaves your skin feeling soft but not stiff like some of the other spray variety sunscreens. You still have to be careful making sure all sun exposed areas get coverage. The one downside of this product is that it is harder to visually see where the sunscreen has been applied.

3. Elta MD UV Aero SPF 45
This is a very unique sunscreen in that it has physical (instead of chemical) UV blocking properties. It went on aerosol style so it was easy to apply but had a much more luxurious, elegant, and moisturizing feel when compared with other spray on sunscreens. It didn’t have a perfume-y fragrance but more of a moisturizing, clean scent. It worked well and kept my skin protected. I would highly recommend this brand to anyone! It seems as though it is a bit more difficult to track down in stores, but can easily be purchased online.

4. Neutrogena Beach Defense SPF 30
This sunscreen works well (most importantly!), has a light fragrance that smells clean and beachy, has a generous amount in each bottle, and is readily available at Target and other stores. I used this sunscreen all over my body (not face) and did not burn at all. You have to reapply sunscreen frequently (every 2ish hours and after getting wet) in order for it to be effective. I know this seems a little excessive, but this is the downside to going to the beach with a dermatologist! I was really happy with this product and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

I am glad that I was able to comfortably enjoy the sun all week with these great products. There really is nothing worse than a sunburn (especially while you are on vacation!)!! Do you guys have any sunscreen favorites? I hope you are having a great week!

J

One thought on “Fun in the Sun

  1. I totally agree on the EltaMD sunscreen for face! I tried it out a couple years ago after reading a review and haven’t looked back. I just read your review on the other Elta products you are using– I may have to give the under eye cream a try 🙂
    Jena

    Like

Leave a Reply

