Recipe Organization

Here is a project I worked on last week that I thought I would share. I don’t know about you, but I have recipes everywhere. I print ones off of pinterest or I’ll rip a recipe out of a magazine and then it ultimately gets shoved in a kitchen drawer or ends up in some pile of papers never to be found. My friend Sara Jane share with me her recipe book this week and I knew right away I had to copy her amazing organization. It is easy and inexpensive and I purchased all the supplies I needed from Target for exactly $12.43! (All of the products I used shown below. They are unavailable online from target.com but you should be able to find them at any Target store or at any other office supply store like Staples, Office Depot or Office Max).

binder2

Here is what you need:

1. Recipes –  gather all the recipies that you have laying around, print the ones off pinterest that you have tried and love or ones that you want to try. Copy your favorite recipies out of your cookbooks.

2. hard cover 3-ring binder ($3.44 at Target). Any size will do, I got 1 1/2″.

3 ring binder

3. sheet protectors (50 pack was 3.69 at Target)

sheet protectors

4. dividers with pockets (8 pack was $4.49 at Target)

dividers with pockets

First, decide which categories you want to have for your recipes. I organized my notebook into the following 8 sections:

-appetizers

– soups/chili

-salads

-entrees

-drinks

-desserts

-holiday

-sides

Insert each recipe in a sheet protector (I like to do 2 in each sheet protector; one on the front side and one on the back) and place in the appropriate category. The great thing about this is that you can flip through it when you are cooking and you don’t have to worry about dirty fingerprints on the paper or food splatter on the recipies. You can easily wipe off the plastic notebook and sheet protectors. If you have lots of cookbooks you can copy the recipes out of these books that you actually use and place them in the binder so you can have everything easily accessible and in one place.

I absolutely love all things organization and anyone who knows me knows I heart school supplies so this project was lots of fun for me.  I am really excited to have one place to keep all my recipes organized. XOXO -Brittany

Leave a Reply

